The Ministry

Offices & Facilities





Contact Us

Media Releases
Members of the Community Recovery Committee present Ms. Sherma Anne Le Blanc - President of the Sea Lots Community Council (2nd from Left, front row). The Community Recovery Committee in attendance were (Front Row L-R) Mrs. Nicola Harvey-Mitchell, Mr. Hans Des Vignes and Mr. Jamaal Shabazz.

The Community Recovery Committee was present at the handover ceremony for thirteen (13) devices on Monday 30th November, 2020 at the Sea Lots Kiddi Care Pre School. Ms Sherma Anne Le Blanc – President of the Sea Lots Community Council presented the devices to students in need at the pre-school. The handover was made possible by the Community Recovery Committee.

The Community Recovery Committee (The Committee) was established by Dr. the Honourable Keith Rowley – Prime Minister in July 2020 to treat with issues affecting at-risk youth and communities. The Committee focuses on the holistic development of communities in Laventille and East Port of Spain by recommending policies and programmes aimed at sustainable community development, economic and social strengthening.

After a consultation with the Sea Lots Community on October 17, 2020, the Community Recovery Committee made good on its mandate to be a source of information to connect East Port of Spain communities with existing services. The members of the Committee made an intervention through the Adopt a School Programme of the Ministry of Education.

As a result, Rock Hard Cement Distributors Limited presented the Committee with thirteen (13) tablets to be distributed to students in need on November 10, 2020. Last Monday’s ceremony, hosted by the Committee, facilitated the donation to the East Port of Spain community to assist students in their participation of school.

Three committee members - Mrs. Nicola Harvey-Mitchell, Mr. Hans Des Vignes and Mr. Jamaal Shabazz were present at the Pre School for the handover ceremony.

The Community Recovery Committee is comprised of 10 members led by Chairman, Mr. Anthony Watkins. The diverse members were selected to treat with issues that impact semi-urban communities including greater Laventille and East Port of Spain.

The Members of the Committee are:

  • Dr the Hon Nyan Gadsby-Dolly – Minister of Education
  • Mrs Nichola Harvey-Mitchell – Director of the Children’s Authority
  • Mr Jamaal Shabazz – Former Trinidad and Tobago Football Manager
  • Mr Hans des Vignes – Television Personality and Radio Broadcaster
  • Mr Curtis Toussaint – Motivational Speaker and Consultant
  • Ms Akosua Edwards – Author, Speaker
  • Dr Keron Victor – Economist
  • Mr Hasely Crawford – Olympian
  • Mr Christopher “Jillionaire” Leacock – Music Producer

- END -

Contact MSYA

MSYA Head Office

#2 Elizabeth Street, St. Clair

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

(868) 628-MSYA or
(868) 628-6792


Sport Company logo National Sport Archives logo FCB Sport Foundation logo